Trans Day of Visibility + Easter

I can’t think of a better day to have Trans Day of Visibility fall on than a Sunday, much less Easter Sunday.

A day where Christians see that even those with the most authority, those who claim to be so righteous and law-abiding fail. Those who thought they had it right be completely turned upside down.

A day when everything was thought to be over, and then they find the tomb empty.

Oh, how I celebrate you!! You who survive every single day against the hate, the violence. How I believe in you and give thanks for you, my friends, for the hope you give my teen clients who are also Trans, who are also exploring what this life means to them.

How I can say to them in their pain, “Look, right now it’s like this but someday it can look like getting coffee with your wife, teaching a classroom of college students beautiful literature, sailing a boat from Boston, adopting a child of your own, parenting, preaching at a church that values you, serving in our military, being a lawyer, being an uncle… yes you can do all these things because the Trans people I love in my life do all these things and they also have boring days and routine days and that will be there waiting for you if we can survive this.”

We, because I am right there with you. And so are many people who love you and will continue to stand up for you. You are not alone.

I reject the current system of organized religion that has failed so many people— but I do not ever reject the beliefs I have as a woman of faith that nothing can seperate us from love. Love wins every single time. It shows up again and again and again.

Happy Trans Day of Visiblity! Happy Easter! I can’t think of two better things to celebrate together. I will never shut up about my love for my Trans friends or Trans clients. I am so proud of them. This day is yours and the crabby Christians who are complaining are wrong. They are the sinners who dare to try to separate God’s love. You are enough, exactly as you are at your most authentic self, you are valued at every stage of exploration, and you are loved, deeply, by God and so many people.

Don’t ever stop being who you are because someone else screwed up the message.

Leave a comment